Data Recover from a USB 3.0 External Harddrive

vbimport

Hi guys. I am Kane and i have been in the IT industry for 5 years. I have not really had a lot of experience dealing with external harddrives. Where i work at, if its broken, send it to the manufacturer.
I am trying to recover data from a USB 3.0 external harddrive. According to the WD tech, the firmware did not install properly so the harddrive is useless. I have a USB 2.0 adapter / sata but i can’t use it for USB 3.0. I need some help on how to recover the data.

Welcome to the forums Kane. I’m not an expert, but I would think a drive that has been flashed improperly will not work at all for home recovery efforts. You might be able to replace the pcb, using one from an identical drive, and recover the data that way.

You are more likely to get informed answers in our hard drive forum, so I’m moving your thread in there. I’ll leave a redirect in the Newbies forum so you can find it easily.

Have you taken the drive out of the usb 3.0 box? If so your usb 2.0(assuming you have a power connection with it) will work fine on the bare drive. I have seen a lot of the external drives fail not because of the drive but the box they are in. Over 70% of the people that have brought me boxes that do not work the drives inside have been fine. Let us know how it goes.
P.S. Welcome to the forum.

I was thinking the same but after i remove it from the case, there is no port or connector for a USB 2.0 to go into. Is there any other suggestions please?

Do you have something like this ? Just a usb cable will not plug into the bare drive. http://www.amazon.com/USB-SATA-5-25-Cable-Adapter/dp/B000YJBL78

Thank you Kerry for the reply. How may i go placing the pcb (printered circuit board)

Yes i do. But with the USB 3.0 connectors, i can’t find a place to plug it in.

With the drive out of the external case it is just a normal sata connection to the drive.