Data on Formatted DVD+RW becomes Read-only

vbimport

Hello, I’m new to CDFreaks and to burning DVDs.
I have a Lite-on SOHW-1213S +/-RW recorder, and XP and have tried to use InCD4 and Sonic DLA to format Sony DVD+RWs (I uninstalled InCD4 before trying DLA). Both these programmes will format the disc, then I can drag and drop, or copy and paste data(.jpeg and .psd files of digital images off my hard drive). When I have finished , before I take the Disc out of the recorder, I can delete or rename them. BUT, after the disc has been removed and re-inserted, all the files are then Read-only and I can’t delete or alter or add anything else to the disc. I have no idea where I’m going wrong. I should be able to delete part of the data shouldn’t I? And I should be able to add more files, providing there is room on the disc?

Please help me to sort this out. I thought by having RW DVDs I could off-load my big stack of photos onto them, but still be able to alter or delete them whenever I want without putting them back on the hard drive.

Thanks, Ruth

try right clicking on the incd icon on your tray and then find the load function and see if that helps

Thanks for your response. I have replaced InCD with Sonic DLA, but I still have the same problem.Once I’ve added data to a formatted DVD+RW, when I put it back in the drive to look at it or add to it, all the files are 'read-only, and the disc won’t accept any more data.
What I really need someone to tell me, yes or no, is Can you use a formatted DVD+ RW like a floppy, add, delete, change and save the changes? Once I know I’m not trying to do something that can’t be done, then I can start to find out why I’m not managing it.
I’m going to put my first post in another of the CDFreak forums,as I think the people most likely to know the answers are not very likely to be reading the Newbie’s forum, hope this is allowed.
Thanks For anybody’s help.

You’re SUPPOSED to be able to use it in the manner which you describe.