Dangerous materials (DVD boxes)

vbimport

Hi folks,

I’m having a problem here (or maybe not?). I ordered a bunch of these 2-DVD-boxes http://www.nierle3.com/s01.php?sid=PG001010613454793064435945479306&cur=eur&sp=en&ag=1&pp=aa&offset=&suchstr=&aug=&augn=&studio=&studion=&eb3=&eb3n=&zu=&azn=&ak1=&akn=&ak2=&ak2n=&leg=&sql_rest=&bnr=2345&htmnr=&htmtitel=&wka=</a>

and they are great - super slim and very practical. While i’m satisfied with the functionality, there is a very harsh/intensive smell out of them (someone mentioned here they are from recycled plastics) and i would like to hear your opinions, if that chemicals could damage my media. Nierle states on the site that the material is PP. What’s that?

I want to use these boxes for both daily and archival purposes and i know for sure that some chemicals are damaging to CDs and DVDs.

Any input much appreciated! :bow:
jj

While I don’t know about whether they are actually recycled or not, as a plastics extrusion operator I can confirm that Polypropelene does have a unique smell to it, as does the color concentrate that is part of the formulation. Recycled plastics, when not mixed with other types, usually retain the odor of the original material. They should be required to label it as a recycled product though (at least in the US, not sure about Europe) so the customer knows what they are getting.

Polypropelene should not damaged discs. It is the same material used in Case Logic disc wallets and other high quality brands of disc storage products.

Well , I don’t know whether they would harm your media or not but I do know that “virgin” materials used for High Quality cases are much better .
As for the PP sign , I think it means (recyclable) not (recycled) :bigsmile:

The PP is probably polypropylene and the smell would most likely be from the PP being in a confined space. As far as any damage, I’ll pass on any thoughts.

Thanks a lot!