D-Link Dir-655 router configuration

vbimport

Hi :slight_smile:

My previous router (a Linksys WAG200G) was acting crazy recently, i.e. it crashed randomly with no apparent cause and the only way to recover it was to unplug the power because the web-interface was not accessible at all during these crashes… a device reboot then is possible only unplugging the power :doh:

After some readings I found this review. In that site there are a lot of benchmarks and based on results published there, it seems that the 655 is one of the best routers available.

I have to say that I’m not interested ad all to the wireless performance, because I don’t use it at all. I’m interested more in cabled connections, and the 655 seems capable to manage a very high number of contemporary connections (it should be useful when using the torrent). The gigabit switch is welcome too :bigsmile:

Being me a total noob, it is possible that I completely misunderstood the benchmarks, btw I bought this router and of course now problems started :doh:

First of all, after reading some information on D-Link forums (there is a subforum dedicated to this specific model… this can give an idea how problematic is the 655 :doh: ) I noticed that there is no official stable firmware available for this router. All firmwares are marked as beta. Moreover, there are different versions according to geographic region, so there is an EU version for Europe, a NA version for North America, etc. Of course, the latest (beta) versions are not available at all for the EU, but only for NA, and there is a bold statement that installing a NA firmware on the EU routers will void warranty (and probably it will destroy the device too :doh:).