Cyclic redundency check

Hope there is some one there who can help me ??

I am new to all this so here goes… I have a dvd burner and a dvd player… I can copy from the original to a blank using dvd shrink. but when I try to copy from a copy to a blank it comes up with an error… ( cyclic redundency check ) i have tried copying a copy with Clone dvd and also nero V6. but i keep getting errors and cyclic redundency check… I have gone through quite a bit of blank dvd’s… I asked the computer place where I bought the DVD burner and player and they said it was my machine… I have a Pen 4. 1.6 ghz
512 mg ram, and a 60 gig h/d … can some one please help me ???
thanks … lonewoolf

A Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) failure means that there is a fatal error on your media which the drive cannot recover from. Basically it means that your media is unreadable. You could try to read the discs in another drive because sometimes certain drives can read better than others. However, a CRC-error is never a good sign and I doubt you’ll have much success with another drive. What kind of media are you using (manufacturer)? CRC-errors are often the result of using low quality media so I suggest you try some better (read: higher quality) media like media from RICOH, VERBATIM, TAIYO YUDEN, etc. Good luck and welcome to the forums.

Ps. I moved your thread from the CloneDVD Forum to our Media Forum as your problem has nothing to do with CloneDVD.

I too have had this problem… it only happens with one specific dvd. It only gets to a certain point and then it freezes, followed by the same error.

I’ve had no other problem burning, only this one dvd. I however do this the long way… I use dvdshrink, followed by Sonic (using dvd43 to bypass copyright) for final burning. I have yet to find a freebie program that can do all that.

Try cleaning the disc. Also, it might not be very good quality media - can you run CD-DVD Speed, pop the disc in, and tell us the MID info (found under the “Disc Info” tab)?