Crossflashing Sony DW-G120A to LiteOn SHM-165P6S

I know this drive is pretty old, but I came across a cheap Sony DW-G120A that I thought I might crossflash to a LiteOn SHM-165P6S. I’ve downloaded the newest stock firmware (MS0R) for the SHM-165P6S from codeguys.rpc1.org which is available in both an .exe and .bin version. I’ve had some experience with crossflashing before (see sig) but it’s been a while now and although I’ve read over some guides, I want to make sure I have it right.

I basically have two questions. Does the firmware I downloaded have to be patched in any way to allow me to crossflash? Omnipatcher does not work for 5S series onward so I can’t patch it with that if patching is required.

Secondly, I seem to recall one of the drives I crossflashed before was a two step flash. This might have been because one of the firmwares wasn’t stock. As long as I have a stock LiteOn firmware am I good to go with this Sony?

Hi,

I crossflashed my Sony DW-G120A to Liteon SHM-165P6S this way:
Got flashfix and an [I]older [/I]Liteon firmware (MS0M, if I remember correctly). Flashed the “flashfixed” Liteon firmware onto the Sony drive. That was all. Then I flashed with official Liteon stock firmware MS0R.
Older firmware is necessary since flashfix can’t handle newer firmware updates for that drive.
See http://club.cdfreaks.com/f44/flasfix-unable-patch-newer-firmwares-198488/

If you already have a .bin firmware, you may try C0deking’s Flash Utility.

Michael

FYI, you don’t need a BIN file to flash using the Flash Utility. Just an unscrambled EXE:
http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html#SHM-165P6S

When the Flash Utility asks for the file to flash, just select the EXE flasher.

[QUOTE=C0deKing;2293563]FYI, you don’t need a BIN file to flash using the Flash Utility. Just an unscrambled EXE:
http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html#SHM-165P6S

When the Flash Utility asks for the file to flash, just select the EXE flasher.[/QUOTE]