Cross-flashing OEM DH-16W1P to Lite-On LH-16W1P

vbimport

Let me just say first that I’m not a techie, so I may say something stupid or ask a dumb question. Bear with me. I’ll try to provide all relevant info.

I have an Acer Aspire E380 with a DVD drive that displays in my device manager as ATAPI DH-16W1P. From the research I’ve done online, that appears to be the OEM version of a Lite-On LH-16W1P.

The drive seems to work fine, except for when I try to play certain DVDs that I get from Netflix. These primarily seem to be discs from Lionsgate and 20th Century Fox studios.

When I put them into the drive and attempt to play them, I get error messages to the effect that the drive cannot detect the disc. (My standalone DVD player also will not play those discs.)

Presumably, it’s a copy-protection issue, and Netflix told me I needed to upgrade my firmware.

Lite-On does not offer an upgrade for the OEM version, only the LH. I downloaded the LH firmware and tried to execute, but received an error message that my drive did not match the firmware.

I know little to nothing about flashing, EEPROM, or related. However, from researching, I discovered the CodeGuys site, along with their list of “unscrambled” Lite-On firmware, along with the OmniPatcher and the instructions for cross-flashing.

This is what I have downloaded and unzipped:

The LH-16W1P flasher (SL08N) from Lite-On.

The “stock” LH-16W1P firmware (which is supposed to be unscrambled and Flashfixed) from this site.

The OmniPatcher from here.

And, just for good measure, FlashFix (and put it in the same folder as UPX, as instructed) from here.

First, I opened FlashFix and dragged SL08N to it. I got an error message that the file size was outside the specified range. I hit ‘ignore’ and continued. It said the file was patched, so I tried to execute SL08N, but still got the ‘no matching drive’ message.