CPU Failure, how to install existing hardrive to another XP computer I have

vbimport

My current Asus 2001 computer, CPU has failed. The hard drive should be in tact, and I would like to install it on to my other computer, which already has XP and a hardrive… I’d like to run both drives from one computer.

I am new at this, and would like some direction. I understand the issues involved when installing two hard drives to a new version of XP, but what about an existing XP, and how to do it?

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

If you want use the hard disk as a data storage system, then there is no issue at all. Simply install the disc into the case, plug the power and the data cables, set correctly jumpers (if discs are IDE drives), and that’s all.

If you want use the old windows XP installation in the new computer, then this will not work. btw, if the new computer already has a XP installed, there is no reason to use the old XP on the new machine :slight_smile:

Once you install the disc windows will recognize the drive automatically, so you only need to be sure that cables are connected correctly and that jumpers are set properly.

[QUOTE=rcamp;2184913]My current Asus 2001 computer, CPU has failed. The hard drive should be in tact, and I would like to install it on to my other computer, which already has XP and a hardrive… I’d like to run both drives from one computer.

I am new at this, and would like some direction. I understand the issues involved when installing two hard drives to a new version of XP, but what about an existing XP, and how to do it?[/QUOTE]