Couple questions... (1) My burner is slow under Windows; (2) Any Linux geeks here?

Hi, new here, but been backing up my dvds quite a while. Have a win2k machine, with an older sony 4x (maybe 2.4x) dvd single-layer burner. Have used dvdshrink and dvddecrypter. Backing up a movie (reading & writing) (“reauthored” - movie title only) takes a couple hours… :confused: No big deal, I just find something else to do while its working…

But after reading thru many threads here, it seems like somethings wrong… or is that about right for a old burner?

I also have a linux machine with an year-old AOpen 8x (I think) dvd burner. I’m still learning about backing up dvds under linux. Have not done one yet. Is anyone here a linux geek?

Anyway, I’m just introducing myself…

Welcome to CDF,
A lot of things vary the speed of DVD Shrink and Decrypter
How much the files need to be compressed to fit on a single layer disc.
The speed of your cpu and the rest of your system.
The buring speed of your drive.
I would check to see if DMA in enabled. This Link will show you how.
Two hours doesn’t seem too bad for the whole job though.

snafoo,

Download DVDInfoPRO utility (free) here: http://www.dvd-recordable.org/wwwimgs/media/flash/dvdinfopro/dvdinfoadvertzip.htm

This utility will help you to check what your burners are capable of.

GB

ok, thanks. will do when I get home from work.

sheesh, having to go to work every day is interfering with my fun…

btw: my win2k machine is an amd-64, with 1 GB RAM, 160 GB HD

I would check to see if DMA in enabled

I checked, it is.

Download DVDInfoPRO utility (free)

I just did. Froze up my machine…had to do a hard reboot

If you have a 2.4x or a 4x burner then you are right in the ball park for it taking a couple of hours.

:cool: :cool: