Could a video card cause encoder lockups

hiya guys,
just to say i am actually not a beginner here, and my job is repairing pc’s, lol believe it or not,
but i have a nightmare problem, that is proving to be a bloody nightmare to be honest, and tracking it down is even harder.

so hoping to get some expert help here.

ok first the problem.

now i do a lot of encoding avi’s to dvd,

now here is the killer,
no matter what i use to do the encoding, i get a few minutes in, and “bang” total system lock-up, and i do mean total, needs a hard reset.

just to verify here, i have used the following…

win avi, vso dvd converter, nerovision.

and as i say every single one locks my pc upwithin minutes.
and i have tried numerous avis also, dont matter which it is,
i have done a total reinstall of my system, and locked again on first try.

now obviously me knowing a bit ( lol or so i thought), these are the things i have tried to narrow it down to.

my first thought, was a conflict in the codecs,
=( cant be that as reinstall would have cleaned them out)

memory
( thought this was the winner), but i have played numerous high end games for hours, (no problems at all)

tried various other little things you do,

now i come to the main question of the post,

could it be my video card,
as i have thought back and tried everything i can think of, and to be honest this is the only piece of hardware i have changed in the past few months.

i did have an fx 5200, and i have now got an ati 9550, ( even tried different drivers)

oh one final thing, that is important to…i use to be able to use ALL these programmes to do exactly what iam attempting to do now, encode avis no problem…and a lot as well.
on this same system to, with absolutely no problems at all.

so guys if there is anybody out there that either knows what the problem is, or can give me ANY ideas, i will listen, as this has been going on now for at least 2 months…and to be honest, i cant afford any new stuff at this time,