Copying DVDs to Hard drive and MPG/WMV/AVI formats

vbimport

Hello all,

I am new to this forum, my first post and I am also new to all the DVD technology out there, specifically DRM and such. The other day I popped one of my DVDs into the DVD ROM drive and launched Power DVD 5 to watch it, but it told me that it could not play it because it was copy protected. After Googling I found the Region+CSS free application on IdleDVD and tried it out. Worked beautifully!

This got me thinking about other plans that I have. I would like to take any one of my DVDs that I have and transfer it to the hard drive, so that my s/w DVD Player (Power DVD 5) can reproduce it without having to insert the actual disc in the drive. The player seems to have the option of getting the content source from a drive spec, but I can’t seem to get this to work.

Also, I would like to (in the future) buy one of those portable media devices that allow you to copy a video or music file (AVI/MPG/WMV) to the hard drive and watch the movie (or listen to music) with it. For this reason, I would also like to know how I can convert the DVD movie to any one of these formats.

After downloading and using Region+CSS Free(RCF) I believe that this program can help to accomplish these tasks, but I am not sure how. After Googling I believe that I need to use RCF in conjunction with another program, but not sure how to piece together the loose pieces.

If anyone can orient me, I’d greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your time and assistance.

Salvador

Try a free 30 day trial full working version of DVDFab Platinum. It can be found in one of the [B]Read First[/B] stickies stating [I]DVDFab 3.0.8.0 is out[/I].

Mack

Agree with Mack.