Copy protection or dead CDRom?

vbimport

Hey I’m a bit of a newb to the whole world of copy protection, so sorry if this is really basic.

About a month ago my cd burner/dvd reader (LG GCC-4520B) started having a few problems burning cds and now pretty much won’t burn over 4x speed.

I’m not sure if it was at the same time but alot of program and game cds stopped working, but all my normal burnt cds work fine. (Out of backed up burnt games I’ve only tried Jedi Academy, which wouldnt read) What happens is the cd light flashes for awhile, the disk spins, but then the computer gives up and won’t recognise a cd as being inserted.

I thought it could have been Nero 6 ultra, which had installed a few days prior (and used to burn Jedi Acamedy and then test- which worked at the time) because my mates computer did the same thing until I closed all his CD burning software.

I’ve tried running with next to nothing though (ctrl alt deleted every program I could, and used msconfig to reduce all the startup programs as much as possible) but everytime its the same. I’m not sure if its an OS based problem, the cds try to read before XP Pro starts up and still jerk around for about a minute delaying the boot up, I’m not sure if copy protection would even work there so it could be a dead cd rom. I noticed a around the same time I created a link to Asus motherboard driver downloads, and I’ve picked up on the net that nforce 2 chipsets (which I don’t have) and other motherboard upgrades can possibly create cd troubles. I’ve rolled back all the drivers that had the option.

Don’t know if it could possibly be related to this… but I also installed 3DS Max 6 (which I’ve uninstalled) which had C-Dilla copy protection that might have caused problems I think.

… Please let someone out there just be able to say "oh just go start->run->fixme.exe… cause I can’t risking wiping the comp to see if its a software error because if its a hardware error I won’t be able to reinstall everything.