Copy Protect DVD's

vbimport

I’m just getting into the wedding video photography business. I’m wondering if there is a free program to copy protect the DVD’s I make to keep family members from copying them and passing them around to each other. I realize there are all sorts of programs to defeat this, and there’s no sure-fire way to prevent it, but if I can cut out the casual computer with a DVD burner owner from copying my work, it would sure help.

Sorry but there is no way. If there was the movie industry would be doing it.

Well, actually the movie industry already DOES what I want to do. They have copy protection on their DVD’s. I realize that there are programs around it, but I’m just looking for a simple copy protection program to put on DVD’s I make for my business. I understand that copy protection programs can be broken, but most of the people I’m selling wedding DVD’s to won’t go to the trouble or have the expertise to get around them.

Those discs are [B]pressed.[/B] You cannot do that on a burned disc. If it can be burned, it can be read.

I WANT it to be read. I just don’t want it to be copied or, at least I want to make it harder to be copied. If I can somehow make it more complicated to copy, most people won’t bother with it.

as Dialysis1 is saying, the movie industry has tried to stop people coping their films, and spent millions on it aswell, but some free and some very small priced software out there can bypass it, so to be honest i wouldn’t bother.

but, if you must, have a read here

http://www.macrovision.com/products/activereach_dvd/ripguard/index.shtml

http://www.protectdisc.com/With_FL/html/products.html

I agree, trying to copy protect DVDs is a losing proposition. Millions have been spent trying and all have failed miserably.

sorry if this is dredging but i dont surf the web much, maybe someone with a little more insight takes my ideas in and forms it into a more marketable design