Copy is rejected by DVD/CD player

I’m a 60 y.o. newbie to copying / burning DVDs. Do to the nature of my problem, it was suggested to me to move from the DVDShrink / Nero7 combination.

This is my first time using DVDFabPlatinum (Trial) to copy only the Main Move, remove the Greek subtitles, compress, then burn to a single layer DVD. Absolutely a fantastic program! After doing the Tutorial, the ease of use, friendly menus, and apparently a ‘do it all’ package, the program is well work the cost.

When I put the backup DVD in the Sony DVD/CD DVP-NC80V (formats supported: DVD-Video, DVD-RW/-R, DVD+RW/+R, SACD, VIDEO CD/Music CD, CD-RW/-R), this message is displayed: “Playing this disc prohibited by area limits”

The same message is displayed when playing the original DVD, using DVDShrink/Nero7. The three original discs are from Greece, NTSC, R0 and apparently lacking RCE/CSS files…

What I find interesting, my un-hacked 2 year old Apex AD-1200, R1, $29.95 from Sears and NEC DVD/CD PC burner plays these discs - original and copies.

I’m eager to learn more about DVDs and would like to eventually resolve this problem. But, where do I go to from here?

Thanks - Ken, wb4zoh

Hi Ken:
The are several members here around your age myself included. I think you will be pleased with Platinum. I use the Express mode most times. All fab products make back up copies region free. I will say that some players are picky and you need to choose blank media that is recommended by the player. Here is a site that has a ton of info on media:

Also it is no surprise that a cheap player plays discs that the more expensive player won’t. I have the Express instructions that I converted to a PDF file, but it is too large to post here so I will email it to anyone who PMs me a request with email address.

Here is a site that sell media and has info. They have free S&H sales, so if you watch you can get good deals:

Mack