Copy frpm VCR to PC DVD Burner

Hello, I have a Video Casette Player (not a recorder) and a lot of old videos that I would love to put on a DVD. I have a DVD Burner on my Laptop. Where do I start, please?

By recording the video and audio stream to your pc using a (usb) recording device.

Content from the VCR is analogue and first has to be digitized…

Thanks to both of you for your response. I would imagine that most of us who have a computer problem use this type of medium as a last resort, having already exhausted Google search and all the other searches. It means we lack knowledge but most of us aren’t stupid. I am a teacher with a degree in Economics so I am quite happy with how my brain cells work. However, I would rather be classed as stupid than just plain ignorant! But then, I should have known better than to have asked a question in a forum where it is considered that smart or sarcastic responses are prefferable to dignified and informative assistance. Thanks, but no thanks!

When you are asking such a generic question, you shouldn’t expect a step by step guide as an answer. I don’t think both answers were sarcastic, but I can’t speak on their behalf. Remember though that people around here are for help and not to fool somebody’s ignorance (if any). We all started from a zero point :wink:

There are so many ways to go from analogue to digital video. The easiest one in my opinion is through a standalone DVD recorder. If you feel confortable using your PC, and you are willing to spend time on learning about video editing, then you should go with a capture card. Then you’ll have many more capabilities. Since you work on a laptop, a USB one is the best choice.

If you provide some more details, a lot of people around here will be of much help :wink: