Converting mp3 64 to 128 am I getting increased audio fidelity?

vbimport

Hi to all, I am a super newbie to audio and video editing and have been trying to understand the vast amount of information on the topic, but many things are still confusing me. One thing in particular is converting files/compression and downsampling.

I understand that if a file is lossy compressed (like an mp3) it cannot be successfully upsampled to an uncompressed file (like a wav) It must be downsampled from an uncompressed file.

But what I don’t understand is that if I take an mp3 file of 64kbps and convert it to an mp3 again but this time select a higher bit rate, 128 kbps, I noticed the file size increased, but am I really getting more audio fidelity? :confused:

Thanks.

All lossy compression is irreversible, in the sense that any quality loss is permanent.

If you transcode a 64 kbps MP3 file to another MP3 file, the process is lossy and you lose more quality - even if you transcode to a higher bitrate like 128 kbps.

The only way to get quality back is to start from the original source or a lossless copy of that source.

Not quite true. You can convert back to WAV or any format you like, you just won’t gain any quality by doing so.

But what I don’t understand is that if I take an mp3 file of 64kbps and convert it to an mp3 again but this time select a higher bit rate, 128 kbps, I noticed the file size increased, but am I really getting more audio fidelety? :confused:

Thanks.

You won’t get any improvement in quality; the data just isn’t there any more. If you went back to an uncompressed source and resampled at a higher frequency then you will get an improvement.

Basically, with audio and video, it is impossible to get a higher quality than the original source.

Slainte

midders

[QUOTE=DrageMester;2469723]If you transcode a 64 kbps MP3 file to another MP3 file, the process is lossy and you lose more quality - even if you transcode to a higher bitrate like 128 kbps.[/QUOTE]