Converting from PAL to Region 1 DVD

vbimport

Hi,

I’ve been using CloneDVD and AnyDVD for the past 10 months and they work great on any DVD I throw at them, until now. One of my pen pals in England sent me a DVD, but it is in PAL format and I’m able to make a perfect copy of it, but I still can’t play it on my stand alone DVD player. I can only play it on my computer. Is there any way to convert a PAL DVD to NTSC or Region 1?

i believe dvdsanta is what you need, never used it tho.

welcome to cdfreaks

It might be easier to check if your equiptment will recognise PAL format first. I can’t say what it is like where you are but almost all over here in the UK now are multiformat. It should be in the menus of both the TV and DVD. What models are they? Check out http://www.videohelp.com/ to see if there is a multi-region hack for your player.

These options are the easy ones first. Converting PAL to NTSC guides are also avaialble on that site.

Thanks for the welcome.

I will check into it. Is that program known for converting PAL to NTSC?

Thanks for the info. I live in Arizona (east of California), and so about 99.99% of all dvd players available for sale at the stores are made to play Region 1 (NTSC) only. The multi region dvd players are hard to find and extremely expensive around here. That’s why I was hoping to find some way of converting the disc itself into a usable format for dvds around here.

There is a difference between multiformat (PAL, NTSC, Segem etc) and multiregion. Check out the link I gave you and go to the section on DVD hacks and see if there is a multiregion hack for your player, these can change a player locked to one region to multiregion.

I thought clone removed the region coding. Maybe I was thinking of DVDshrink.

both will create region-free copies…

the original poster is correct in assuming his problem is with the FORMAT.