Converting from Hi-8 tapes to DVD for home movies

vbimport

Hi,

I am a newbie here, so please excuse some ignorance I may have…

I am trying to convert my Hi-8 home movies with my Sony camcorder (which I believe is an analog machine) to a DVD format so I can edit them and get them on an electronic form. I want to do this myself, but I have not had the time to investigate how to do this, so what better way then to reach out to CD/DVD media experts!!

If you could, please advise me of equipment options I may need to convert these and any other information I may need to do this project.

Thanks in advance!

C.D.

Cheapest, quickest and easiest method is to buy a DVD recorder (set top) with the appropriate input and record directly to DVD. You can later transfer to PC for additional authoring, menus, etc. Consult your camcorder manual for connections to another recorder. Some have firewire, some have S-video, etc.

What is the model number of your camcorder?

My Hi-8 Camcorder is a Sony Handycam Vision CCD-TRV68 NTSC with 460x Digital Zoom.

This camera still works wonderfully and I even hate to give it up, but digital seems the way to go and I will eventually purchase a digital camcorder of some kind.

I purchased some cables to connect from the Sony camera to my Pioneer VCR-DVD Recordable machine at home, but I am afraid that there may be some loss of quality by doing it this way.

I went to my local radio shack and they told me that I cannot connect my Sony camcorder directly to my PC, because there is no USB connection on my camcorder.

Will I need some sort of converter box to help with the picture quality?

Does anyone have any comments, suggestions, any guidance to give me.

I am pretty mechanically inclined, but just don’t have the knowledge needed to do this conversion, or at least I think that anyway.

I would really appreciate any help that anyone can give me.

Thanks so much!

C.D.

Will I need some sort of converter box to help with the picture quality?