Convert UK vhs video to US format DVD

I am not technically minded. I have two video tapes from late 70s/early 80s that are special to me, one is a wedding video and the other of my children and such. I live in the USA now and cannot view these. I want to know if I can get these converted to US format dvds?
The answers need to be simple for my non technical brain, and if you can direct me to a service company that does this, that would be marvellous
thanks!

It is possible, but it require few different software and free once are not that easy to use.
Also it require VHS machine which can play PAL tapes, if that is the case.
It is better to find a shop in your area, who can convert it for you.
Call few TV retailers and ask for one, they may know.
Do not call department stores, I do not think you will get any answer there.
Sometime, TV repair shop is a good way to start.

Thank you somewhere to start at last :slight_smile:

Send those special tapes by courier(a known guy maybe) to India?Maybe I can help you here,full confidentiality maintained.

I have seen similar questions in a forum called videohelp.com, search there.
Also, the guys from digitalfaq.com offer services that might be what you need.

I haven’t purchased anything from this site .Maybe they have the type multi system VCR/DVDcombo unit you need.
There are probably other sites that sell the same units but I think they are what you need.

https://www.samstores.com/Store.asp?CtgID=282

[quote=floridawoody;2201221]I am not technically minded. I have two video tapes from late 70s/early 80s that are special to me, one is a wedding video and the other of my children and such. I live in the USA now and cannot view these. I want to know if I can get these converted to US format dvds?
The answers need to be simple for my non technical brain, and if you can direct me to a service company that does this, that would be marvellous
thanks![/quote]