Convert Fine Burn Fails

vbimport

Hi there, I am trying to burn to DVD and I seem to be having a few problems as I’m new to all this. I’m using ConvertXtoDVD software with a Phillips DVD -+ RW drive SPD3500cc connected by USB 2. It is converting fine but when it comes to burning that’s when the problems start.
The first try had an error code came up…

(Write error at 5488 (16) – code 05 21 02 [Illegal request, invalid address for write])

So I tried changing the speed of the burning, this made the burn complete but it made it unwatchable.

Where am I going wrong and what can I do to make I work?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Welcome to CDF :slight_smile:

What brand of discs are you using, and what is the burn speed set to in ConvertX’s Burning settings?

I use the same setup (ConvertXtoDVD and an external USB2 drive) without problems :slight_smile:

[quote=Arachne;2030683]Welcome to CDF :slight_smile:

What brand of discs are you using, and what is the burn speed set to in ConvertX’s Burning settings?

I use the same setup (ConvertXtoDVD and an external USB2 drive) without problems :)[/quote]

Thanks for getting back to me, I’m using Maxell DVD+R and ConvertX Burning setting is at 6x.

From what you’ve said so far, I think the media is the likely culprit - Maxell outsource the manufacturing of their media to at least three different companies, not all of them good.

I would try some Sony or Verbatim (preferably Verbatim) discs, and you should be able to burn watchable stuff with a setting of 8x.

I suggest a media change, given Maxell’s outsourcing and the fact that changing speeds (which often helps when the media isn’t top-notch) hasn’t helped here. :wink:

Works for me with the same media, I get next to no coasters. :slight_smile:

I’ve tried TDK DVD +R and changed the burning speed to 8x but no luck so far :frowning: now it comes up with…

D:\ is not accessible. The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.