Conversion Problem

:a :a I’m new at this but here’s the problem I’m running into. After converting avi file to dvd, using vso software (Divx to Dvd), I burn the dvd using same software. Problem is, dvd will play on computer but not my Sony dvd player. The message my Sony gives me is as follows: “Playback Prohibited by area limitation”. At first I thought maybe I was burning too many files on dvd but that was not the case (3.4GB). The problem is also not consistent. Some work and some don’t. I also tried burning, using different software (Copy to DVD SE) to no avail. I then tried to isolate problem. Maybe it was the file(s) I was converting. I tried several, same result. I’m confused and fustrated. Does anybody have a solution? Oh, I also used different blank media also, same problem.

Message is a bit cryptic but are you burning to a region code different that your own?

btw) I don’t use that software so don’t know if it has the option to set the region code

There are no region codes in such conversions. What disc format are you using +/-?

Considering it is a Sony player you may not be able to play DVDRs a coupld of my friends have Sony players and they won’t play them, though they also have one of the cheeper generic brands like Pacific which will play the discs.

I have a sony and they can be very picky about what discs they play. What media are you using (brand name)? What type of disk is it (+R, -R)? The media can make a bigger difference than you think.

Thanks Jay, I’m using DVD-R, and I also have another DVD player (Samsung). The DVD’s don’t play in either. Also I’ve tried different media. Some work and some don’t.There does not appear to any connection to the type of media or the player. There must be something wrong with the files I’m converting. I just converted and burned a copy of Godfather 2 and it worked fine. But when I try it on another file I get the same problem. I’m still confused.