Connecting TV to laptop

Hi,

I’m trying to connect my TV to my laptop. I want to play a movie on my laptop and view it on my TV.

At the back of my laptop I have a port which has 15 holes in a D shape, I’m pretty sure it’s for connecting to a normal monitor.
I also have a cable which has 2 identical ends which could both fit into my laptop port. This cable has 14 pins (one is missing on the middle line, 2nd from the left).
My TV has lots of differnt ports which are confusing to me. The only TV port that can fit the cable is a “D-SUB” port.

My question is: How do I get things set up and working? I’m totally new to flat screen TVs and all of the various formats etc. My laptop is connected to the TV, but when I go through the chanels I can’t see my computer screen on my TV screen.

Any ideas?

In your tv switch the input to your D-Sub,it should be in the set-up menu

Thanks for the reply. Which button on the remote would you recommend I try: Menu, TV, PC/HD, Video, Scart?

pc/hd-if that does not work try video-did you get a manual with the tv?Also make sure your lappy is set to output from the D-sub.

I’m going through the manual now :slight_smile:
I’ve followed the section “connecting a PC via VGA cable”. Then I select the source by pushing the “PC/HD” button (my submemu choices are: VGA, DVI, HDMI). I’m not sure what to do next. If I chose VGA a warning comes up “No VGA signal, TV is shutting down”.
Can you tell my how to make sure my laptop is set to output from the D-sub. I’m using Vista Home Premium. Perhaps my laptop is set wrong??

On most laptops with xp press fn-f4 to toggle from laptop to vga output.
Go to control pannel,appearence and themes,change resolution,click on 2 and adjust your settings(check"extend my windows desktop to this monitor)
This is for xp should be similar for vista-sorry do not have a rig with vista running right now.