Connect Line Out to Line In

Hey Guys,

I’m kinda new to all this stuff, so bear with me please!!!

I have software that allows me record old LPs and cassettes on to my PC. This works very well. On my recording software, I have set the sound input source to “Line-In”. Does anybody know if it’s ok to connect the line-out from my sound card to the line-in on the back of my PC? So for example, if I play a track on Media Player, it becomes the sound input source for my recording software. The reason I want to do this is that I have an idea about mixing some music tracks that are already on my PC, but I’m not sure yet what exactly I want to do (one of those kinda ideas, if you get my drift…).

Regards

TheSlider:a

One solution you could try is a progrma called “virtual audio cables” (VAC) which you can find here .
The first of probably many problems you will probably encounter if you try the patch from out to in as you described, is that if you then use some software to try to record what arrives at the line in, most recording software will try to also playback or “monitor” what you are recording, so you can hear that it’s working ok, at the right volume, etc. Then you will have an error or a crash because whatever you are using to play audio to the output will have “possession” of the audio output driver. Most regular soundcards and associated software only have what is called “single client” drivers which means that only one program can control, access or send/recieve data to and from them.
There are high-end (meaning expensive!) pro soundcards that have “multi-client” drivers but I doubt you using one.