Confused about writing speeds and firmware

Hey Ya’ll
i am new to the program world,so please bear with me :cool: here is my confusion…any help would be appreciated

i have a 16x dvd-rom drive
necdvd+rw nd-1100a (dell puter)
smasung dvd-rom sd616t

now, when i burn a movie ,i use nero, which says it writes at 2.4x

i use memorex dvd+r discs 4x 4.7gb…

do i need firmware? and where can i go to get it if needed…, cause memorex tells me thatdvd+rw/+r drives installed in H/P and Dell puters, require the firm ware upgrade

now, i went to DVD+RW alliance, and here is what they say
"Upgrade for:

• “first generation” 2.4x DVD+RW drives to allow usage of 1-4x DVD+RW media
  • “second generation” 2.4x DVD+R/+RW drives to allow usage of 1-4x and 1-8x DVD+R media and 1-4x DVD+RW media
  • “third generation” 4x DVD+R/+RW drives to allow usage of 1-8x DVD+R media"

can anyone understand this…lol…i sure do hope so,cause i think my brain only has 1.2x writeing speed …also i understand "memorex " is a cheap make…can anyone recommend a good dvd+rw media?

thx for any help on this

bob

http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?category=4&manufactor=23

I have basicly the same problem.

Samsung TSST corp TS-H552B
Verbatim DVD+R 12X disk
Nero 6.6 and Roxio 7

I have updated my firmware and I can not burn over 2.4. I have check my DMA settings and everything else I can think of.

Anyone have any ideas? :confused: