Concerned with ND-3540a writing quality

After deciding between the Liteon 1693s and the NEC ND-3540a, I settled on the ND-3540a. I’m a newbie to the CD/DVD media quality world, and I hope to learn more.

I’m concerned with the writing quality of my ND-3540a. It is using stock 1.01 firmware (I think) and my first DVD-R burns were less than perfect. On some DVD-R discs, the media would become unreadable (or damaged), according to Nero CD-DVD Speed’s ScanDisc after 75-80% of the disc. I think this is a result of the media I was using (CompUSA branded DVD-R Princo media @ 2x). My DVD+RWs ran a lot better (they are once again CompUSA branded but Philips 041), but I’m still concerned with the high levels of PI errors and PI failures on the disc. What do you guys think?

I’m using the ND-3540a in an external USB enclosure with the ALi M5621 chipset. My other burners are a Liteon LTC-48161H KHOP and a LTR-24102B 5S54.

Also, my CD-Rs seem to be stuck at 32x CD buring. Nero 6.6.0.13 and Nero Infotool reports the CD writing speed to be 32x, even when the drive is put in a firewire enclosure. CD reading speeds have no problem getting to 48x.

Welcome to the forum.

Try scanning at 5X or 8X. Max is to fast :wink:
With an external enclosure, you will most likely not be able to burn at 16X, but 12X should be possible.

RE 32X CDR write speed. This is common on NEC drives, this speed is set in the firmware for a lot of CDR media.

Dee,

Thanks for the suggestions. It never occurred to me that CD-R speeds would be locked to 32x for some media, even though the media was rated for 48x. My LTC-48161 writed to the same media @ 48x no problems. While it’s not a big loss, it’s a bit disappointing. I just noticed that with no media in the drive, the drive reports a 48x write speed. Do you think more media will be allowed to burn at 48x in a future firmware update?

I tried what you suggested, lowering theread speed to 8x and 5x. How do these look?