Computer buiding help

vbimport

i want to start building a computer could u guys please help me all i need to know is what part i should by first,second,third and so on,i dont have enough money to buy the peices at once so the comp will be put together a little bit at a time :frowning:

case
psu
motherboard
cpu
ram
gfx card
hdd
cables
keyboard
mouse
monitor

Please have also a look into the hardware forum.

Hey chef, you forgot the ODD!!! :bigsmile: :doh: :wink:

ok thanks but what is a psu,and a odd(sorry this is my first time)and one more question is there any soldering involved or is it all connect

Sorry, [B]bounce7769 :slight_smile: . [/B] PSU = Power Supply Unit and ODD = Optical Disc Drive. Building from scratch takes some experience, so it may not be your best option right now. If you’re going to buy one piece at a time, the first will be outdated by the time you get the last. Give us an idea of what you’re using right now, maybe there’s some stuff you can “recycle”.

ok maybe i wont build i will probably just save up for one thanks anyways guys

purchasing a barebones kit off of newegg.com might be a good idea for a beginner. at least then you know the major components are compatible.

That’s a good idea, as it’s somewhere between buying a fully built comp, and building your own. :slight_smile:

do they come with the stuff i need or do i still need to buy the neccesary items

I agree with reasons and Arachne, a barebones system sounds like a great compromise. Bounce, I recommend you read up a little and get a feel for what’s involved and maybe have a little familiarity with the various components that chef so nicely listed.

Click on Build Your Own PC. It’s a guide I just found and took a quick look at…doesn’t look too bad for starters, might be a little dated. Do you have access to a pc at all…something you could just pop the panel off and look at while referring to the guide?