Complete noob question

I don’t even know where to start since I’m your basic noob/idiot.

But I just did my first burn after capturing DV from my Dig8 camcorder. I have a few questions. But first, I am using an NEC 3500 driver, memorex DVD-R (8x speed) discs, and Roxio Creator 7 (basic edition).

1. The capture process kept being interrupted when using Roxio. Anyone else experience this? I captured the video in uncompressed .AVI format (as an aside, if I capture in MPEG-2, will quality be compromised?).
  2. After taking 1 hour to capture an entire Dig8 tape (which makes sense to me since the tape is 1 hour of video), burning the DVD took me well over 1 hour. I am not sure if this is normal, but from reading the forums, I am thinking it’s not.
  3. I bought DVD-R media b/c I have an old DVD player. But while the burned disc played on my computer’s DVD player, it did not play on my DVD player hooked up to my TV.
  4. I also have ULEAD VideoStudio v5.0. Is this better than Roxio? Or should I just buy Nero since everyone here seems to really like it.

Thanks for your help.

I captured the video in uncompressed .AVI format (as an aside, if I capture in MPEG-2, will quality be compromised?).
MPEG 2 is a DVD quality stream, and a widely recognised format, you should be capturing in MPEG 2 format, for burns to DVD. MPEG 2 will work fine on your standalone DVD player. AVI (Audio/Video Interleave) is defined by windows. So it is designed for use on PC platforms, not standalone DVD players.

burning the DVD took me well over 1 hour
This can be for many reasons, if it burnt fine I wouldnt worry about it.