Compatibility Questions From A Newbie

Hello, i just recently stumbled upon this site, and so far i like what i see. I decided to join because, like many, i have unanswered questions and would like some input from others who have more experience than i do with burning.

Here’s my situation…

I have a samsung writemaster (H552U) with the latest firmware US07.
I have downloaded tons of programs that i’ve discovered useful from my research over the last few weeks. My burning program of choice is Nero 6 and Dvd Decrypter, although i have many others.

This is my first attempt at burning DVD discs. I have no problems burning, but i have some issues in the compatibility area. I’m using DVD+R DL discs. I have a Yamaha yht760 with a DV-C6761 dvd player. Supposedly this dvd player should be able to play DVD+R discs, along with any other format, but i am unable to play my discs in the player. The player simply reads “NO DISC” whenever i try. I have another dvd player, a SONY, which plays the discs fine.

Up until now i’ve been thinking that i was doing something wrong in the burning process. I read that i should be able to change the booktype to DVD-ROM to enable compatibility through NERO, but this isn’t working. Nero gives me an error that the disc is unsupported, so i end up just using DVD Decrypter to burn the disc. Since my brand of burner isnt mentioned in the booktype settings dialogue i am unable to change the booktype with dvd decrypter.

Any ideas what i’m doing wrong? Should i be using DVD-R discs? Is Yamaha lieing to me? Should i just use a different DVD player? Should i be using a different burner?

I’m trying to make my burns as compatible as possible and once i figure out what works best for me i’ll stick with it. I’ve done a lot of research but seems right now i’m at odds end.

Any help or words of wisdom is greatly appreciated!

If your burner doesn’t support Booktyping DVD+R media to DVD-ROM, then you should use DVD-R media only.