Cmc Mag. Ae1

i bought some HP 8x DVD-R that went on sale here. made a point of looking for a CMC-style cakebox. the media turned out to be CMC MAG. AE1.

what’s this stuff like ? any good ? stable ?
(i’m not very experienced with non-Verbatim CMC stuff)

here’s a few screenshots burned on LG GSA-H10L LL11.
1st burned at 8x, next 2 burned at 4x.
looks like the media doesn’t handle the Z-CLV speed change very well.
but the 4x scans look quite decent, i think.
(yeah, burned on GSA H10L, scanned on BenQ, not a good combination i know…)

Considering the BenQness of the scans I think they’re ok. PIE may be a little bit elevated but nevertheless the PIF are ok.

yeah.
well by my standards these scans are very good.
(i don’t know if i keep getting bum drives or bum media).
here’s a CDSpeed test disc i made from the first disc in the spindle.
and the 2nd pic is another one i made just now, when looking for the 1st one. even worse.
so compared to these 2, the scans in my first post are much better. PIF at least.

“BenQness” :bigsmile:

HP CMC MAG. is pretty good stability wise, although my scans aren’t anything special for my burners.

Not bad at all :slight_smile:

Your LG is butchering them at 8x, although the 4x burns look good (high jitter can be a factor in exaggerating error levels though and appears to be partly to blame here). Any reason why you haven’t burned any in the Benq, or have you already? They burn well in my drives, Benq 1640 among them.

Haha, I missed the jitter. :eek:

Be interesting to see some 1620 burns though, now it’s been suggested :wink:

funny thing, i tried to make a CDSpeed Test Disc @ 4x, and it does it at 4x. three tries actually, it insists on doing 8x and the results are miserable. all of them worse than the 1st scan in post #3.

i only use the BenQ for scanning. maybe i’ll try see how it does this media.

The latest version of CD-DVD Speed actually ignores any speed I set in Create Disc for both my LGs :wink: