Closing ImgBurn

Every time ImgBurn hangs on me, I select Cancel and it takes almost forever for the program to close and I almost have to Ctl-Ald-Del each time in order to cancel ImgBurn. Why does the program take so long to close down, if at all? Is it by design?

Please advise as I am an inquisitive newbie :slight_smile:

The program should not hang at all. What was you doing when it hang?

I was only trying to burn using SONY disc and an external Sony burner (840U).

USB connected?

In what phase of the burning stage was it hanging? When you inserted the disc? You should see in the lower left part of the programs window what it’s currently doing.

You are using version 2.4.1.0?

I am using the latest version released in April 2008. It stopped respondind at aroung the 34% mark during a burn. So far, I have wasted about 15 coasters (Sony and CMC alike) on ImgBurn :frowning:

You can’t cancel / close it because if the I/O command sent to the drive never gets processed, ImgBurn is not in control.

As soon as the driver/drive returns success or failure, ImgBurn will be back in control and will deal with your request to quit.

I/O is quite synchronous, that’s why other programs don’t work - the command the system is sitting on is holding everything up. If it’s a USB drive just unplug the thing and windows will probably spring back to life. The disc will be toast but then it would be anyway.

Are you using decent media? (What MID’s?)
Is the firmware on the drive up-to-date?
What speed are you burning at?

Thank you for the insights.

I am using both Sony and CMC (Maxell and HP) discs and the Sony’s firmware is up to date with a USB 2.0 connection. I also use the max speed as recommended by ImgBurn.

All the best,

delerue

Imgburn recommends burning at max speed?

That’s interesting as I’ve never built code in to recommend burning at any particular speed!

Assuming you’re referring to the write speed being used when set to ‘AUTO’, you might like to read this…