Clony, ASPI and Windows XP

vbimport

when backing up my CDs I use clony XL and cloneCD
Clony reads the disc and sets up the settings on clone CD automatically.
All worked fine on Win ME but when I installed WinXP the clony prog will not run. I checked on the clone CD site which recommended that I d/l a file called force ASPI. This has not worked either. Any help would be greatfully accepted as I dont know which setings to use on Clone CD. THese were peviously set up for me by clony

What version of ASPI are you running. I read that 4.60 is most portable.

Did you make sure that the aspi drivers were installed and functioning correctly? this is done using the aspi check which is included in the force aspi package. also after installing the aspi drivers the machine has to be rebooted before they become functional.

thanks for your comments. As I am a complete rookie when talking about ASPI can someone please advise how to check my ASPI layers and change to a version that is compatible with WIN XP and will make clony work again?
Now that clony is not working I am not confident in using Clone CD to back up protected CDs. THere are so manysettings in there. How do you know which settings to use as Clone CD does not read the protection on the CD.
Are there any general settings that work in mose cases?

Originally posted by ruxton28
Are there any general settings that work in mose cases?

Yes, the default Game CD profile works in most cases. Read the CloneCD Faq.

no need to check them because xp doesn’t have aspi installed. you need to get force aspi which can be found on GOOGLE then install aspi as per the instructions then reboot and all will be well;)

From philamber’s comment I followed the link to clone cd FAQ and found this

“I’m new to CloneCD. Do I need to use a protection scanner and custom profiles to copy games?”