Cloning Software

vbimport

Ok, what is everyone using sucessfully.

I’ve previously used Norton’s Ghost and Acronis True Image, but I have an issue at the moment…

I have a Notebook computer with Windows7 and I’m trying to migrate to a larger HDD,

And while I’ve sucessfully used EasyGig2 to copy from the onboard HDD to a USB connected HDD (Eagle tech enclosure with the destination drive installed in it) with Vista it won’t copy Windows 7.

the application crashes, I believe the issue is that small partition Win7 creates at the front of the drive, but…

Acronis and Norton simply don’t see the USB drive, and while EZ-GIG does I get to the point where I get a button to re-boot to proceed (the other choice is “cancel”) and it reboots… and the application fails to do anything.

I have four systems I need to migrate to larger HDD’s and this is seriously tripping me up.

I’m fairly new to win7, so…

AD

For what I know Acronis should be able to use the USB connected HDD.

Acronis has an option to migrate the system to another HDD, and I already used it some time ago, but I can’t remember if I connected the new HDD to USB or if I installed the dive internally :frowning:

Maybe you can try to boot from the acronis CD instead of running migration from windows.

Allan , I don’t have Windows 7 yet .
I know you are experenced but have you set the USB drive as the first in the boot sequence in the BIOS & then see if Acronis will recognize it ?
I have an external USB HDD I set up to do my Restore backups .I set it up to work like the .pdf I am posting a link to. With the USB set first in the BIOS it boots strait to Acronis & the I select the backup I want.
It might work the same for cloning.
http://www.themudcrab.com/downloads/acronis_bootable_usb_hd.pdf