CloneDVD rips 1/4 as fast as DVDDecrypter?

So I bought a copy of CloneDVD the other night, and have been using it, with AnyDVD, to backup some of my double-layer DVDs to my hard disk.

I have noticed that it sometimes takes almost 50 minutes just to rip the DVD, whereas when I used DVDDecrypter with AnyDVD, it took 15-20 minutes, tops.

Does anyone have any idea why CloneDVD would be so much slower? Is it doing a lot more work than DVDDecrypter did? (more error checks, more re-reads, etc?).

I’m new to CloneDVD, so any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

• Tim

It all depends on the disc itself really. Average time for me with CloneDVD2 is under 10 minutes, but sometimes I run across a disc that takes 20-30.

don’t DL disks take longer to read if even the data is not that much more than a SL disk?

DL disks do take longer, but my Plextor PX716SA is pretty speedy, and DL disks have taken only 15 or 20 minutes at most in the past to rip using DVDDecrypter.

I’m just doing a test-run with DVDDecrypter against the same DVD, and it’s estimating 12 minutes at the current speed, whereas CloneDVD estimated 45 minutes (and took 45-50 with the actual rip). I notice that when DVDDecrypter is running, the disk speeds up to what sounds like close to max rip speed (or at least faster), whereas when CloneDVD rips, the disk stays at a slower speed.

Anyone know why this might be?

• Tim

Doesn’t DVDDecrypter just rip, not transcode and compress? I know CloneDVD compresses the movie while ripping, but I don’t think Decrypter does, I may be wrong.