Clone DVD Mobile Video Settings

Just a quick question regarding DVD Mobile Video settings and iPod…

In the past the Video Settings for the iPod slide bar had a range of 13-33, with default of 23. Normally I would set to 25 or 26 and the output was fine.

In recent versions, it seems like the slide bar video settings is now 1-100 with a default of 23.

So my question is…under the new 1-100 video settings, is 23 the same as 23 was before - or should it be set more towards 80? I know the higher the setting, the larger the file size. I’m just trying to figure out what the best setting is compared to what I was using before.

Thanks in advance for the help!

When using CloneDVD Mobile myself, I tend not to think “what’s the quality I’m looking for”, more, “how much space do I want to give this on my Vision:W” if you catch my meaning. As for answering your actual question, I have no idea, I’m new to the software myself. Only started using it last week.

I agree - it’s more about the quality. Under the old software 25 or 26 was acceptable to me (it was actually very good) - that’s why I’m trying to figure out what the new ratio is. I think the old settings used to be based on Frames Per Second, but under the new 1-100, I’m wondering if it’s more percentage based and 80 (%) is equivalent to what I was using before. I supposed I could try ripping at different settings and watching - I was just hoping someone had a quick answer and would save me some time :slight_smile:

Do you have any of the old files you made & the source DVD they came from? Whack the DVD back in the drive and fiddle until you match the file sizes. Might be a time intensive process though.

Perhaps one of the Slysoft guru’s can help?

rjc,

yes, in short: the value of 23 (or whatever value you choose) still represents the same quality as it used to.

Now the video bitrate is the limiting factor for many devices (iPod: 2,5Mbit MPEG4).