Cleaning PC Components

Hi,
I’m a newbie computer owner & on opening the tower to put in a new hard drive, I noticed quite a bit of dust in there, especially on the cooling fan & the intel processor fan(I think its a fan). Just wondering whats the best way to get the dust out of there?. I’ve been told that a small air compressor could blow the dust out, Is this safe? What do the experts use to clean theirs? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

At most computer and electronic stores you can buy cans of compressed carbon dioxide. This is a safe and effective way of clearing dust out of heatsinks, fans, etc.

NEVER USE A VACUUM THOUGH! (just thought i’d warn you). The static charges with a vacuum can kill the PC bits. The compressed air is fine, but i haven’t heard of pplz using a compressor. I use a straw which i blow thorough, or some cotton buds, towels etc. Not exactly hygenic, i’d say stick with the air.