Choppy playback vs Media type

vbimport

I’m still really new at copying DVD’s and using CloneDVD, so I apologize ahead of time if I’m repeating a previous thread! I’m having trouble with some, but not all, of the DVD movies I’ve copied on playback in a regular DVD player. I’m getting a lot of pausing/choppy playback with some of them in a regular dvd player. I’ve read in a couple of places that it could by my media type, which is Memorex 8x +R DVDs. My burner will do either -R or +R; I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the differences are? Also, I thought Memorex was pretty reliable, but has anyone else had trouble with the playback of these dvd’s? :doh:

Thanks!
aparham

I don’t use CloneDVD itself, so I can’t help on that score - but I can tell you that Memorex isn’t the best media - the manufacturer of the discs can vary (not the brand), so some discs can be fine, some not.

It’s generally recommended to stay away from Memorex…first of all, do you have any other media that you can try?

Also, pop one of those Memorex discs into your PC, and run Nero CD-DVD Speed, then post the MID of the discs for us.

BTW, welcome to CDF :slight_smile:

Agree with Arachne… always listen to a cat! :iagree:

I would also suggest reducing the burn speed. While the media might not be the best, you may get ok results slowing things down. Try burning that 8x media at 4x and see if results are any different.

Also, if your drive supports bitsetting, set the default to DVD-ROM. I doubt that is an issue because the disc does play, but it can’t hurt.

I have not used Memorex media , but I have known several people personally who have had bad experiences with them so I don’t mess with them, I can also say that Fugi is by far the worst and most defective discs I have ever used and wouldn’t use them again if they were free. I prefer Sony DVD-R MIJ these have been 99.99 % flawless for me .

fuji BRANDED discs that are 8x +R made in JAPAN are Taiyo yudens and are very good.