Changing from stock cpu cooler to aftermarket?

vbimport

I would ask about replacement of a stock cpu cooler with an aftermarket cooler.

If you have an AM3 and wish to replace with Coolermaster Hyper 212 do you use the existing mount to fasten too? Or must you replace the stock mount with a different one?

Thank you

Hi,

there are coolers that need their own mount, others can be installed using the existing one. You may check the manufacturer’s support website if they have some additional information including installation instructions available.

Michael

[QUOTE=mciahel;2505986]Hi,

there are coolers that need their own mount, others can be installed using the existing one. You may check the manufacturer’s support website if they have some additional information including installation instructions available.

Michael[/QUOTE]

Thank you for reply

I have no experience with replacing manufacture HSF with anything not already issued as the default. The AMD HSF on the 965 is much louder than I have heard others in the past. Small fan goes to speed of 6000+ RPM and is noisy almost to distraction and annoyance. I will seek to find aftermarket that will mount on factory base in hopes to find a quiet solution.

Thank you for helping

It also depends how much space and other obstructions there is around the processor.
If you have space then something similar to Arctic cooling heat pipe and large fan assembly could be what you are looking for. The large fan turns slower than stock but moves as much air but more quietly.
You don’t say what graphics card you have but the fans on them can be just as noisy but you may not notice that because of the noise the CPU fan is making, but will become apparent when you fit a quieter CPU fan!

Bear also in mind that some coolers are huge, and they need a lot of space also in the case. Some cases cannot contain a too high heatsink so before to buy one, take a look at measures :slight_smile:

Hey Subzero,