Changing dvd-r dl to more recognized format (Canon DC 310 camcorder)

[qanda]This thread is about the Canon DC 310 - camcorder - DVD-R (8cm), DVD-RW (8 cm), DVD-R DL (8 cm). Click here to see full specs[/qanda]I recorded an event last night at our church and used a Canon DC310 camcorder. It uses DVD-R and -R DL discs, I opted for the DL disc so I could naturally film longer without interruption. Now it’s done and seems to play fine in the camcorder, but doesn’t seem to want to play the second layer in my stand alone DVD player or my HP Pavillion computer. I need to burn copies for many others but I’m afraid this will be a problem for them too. Is it possible to change or convert it to DVD+R or any other format? I only have two chapters on the disc. I’m new to copying DVD’s but I am very familiar with PC’s and software, so I should be able to figure it out with a little help and steering me in the right direction. Thanks in advance!

Copy the files from the -R discs in Windows Explorer to your hard disk and then burn them to + media with a regular burning program that you like.

www.imgburn.com is one that is free and should work for your task.

:slight_smile:

Well, since a dual layer mini dvd can contain about 2.7GB of data you could use Imgburn to create an ISO and then burn that iso to a single layer standard size DVD. If you choose DVD+R you will achieve better compatibility if your burner supports bit setting (change the booktype to DVD-ROM). DVD-R will work as well because it doesn’t require bit setting. Either way, use good media like Verbatim or TY and burn at 12X or 8X if your burner supports those speeds.

Thanks for the good advice… going to try it now.