Changing DMA Mode in WinXP?

Hi Guys,

New to the board. Tried doing a search but didn’t find an answer.
I’m running Win XP Professional and just ordered the Plextor 24/10/40 which should be arriving soon. I have attempted to locate where Win XP displays the DMA mode for the CDRW drive. Currently I have a Richoh 4 speed ( don’t laugh it works fine, just slow) and I am unable to find how to check and change the DMA…
The bios is set to auto and when I look, the PIO mode is 4 and the DMA disabled. I then enable the DMA (in the auto mode) and boot. When I reboot I enter the bios and give it a look and the DMA is once again disabled. I don’t know if this is the way it should be since I ran this Richoh burner in Win ME with the DMA enabled in the device manager and worked fine, so it is capable of running in DMA Mode 2. Is it XP changing my bios back to disabled?
I have little knowledge of what the DMA and PIO functions are, but I do know Plextor says DMA should be enabled. Can’t enable what I can’t find. Any suggestions or advice are sincerely appreciated.

itz - I use the “classic” settings in XP, but you want to end up in the same place.

Go to Control Panel, System, Device Manager. Then go to IDE ATI/ATAPI controllers, and the properties of whichever IDE channel your writer is connected to (Primary or Secondary). In fact, go to all of them and select DMA if available.

That should do it. It worked on mine.

Czar
Thanks for the suggestion but it doesn’t list there. I hav done some serious browsing on this board and I may have hit on the problem but no solution was provided. I have a Asus P4B M\B and a P4 1.6 mgh processor. With the M/B came a disc and instructed to add the intel drivers along with a program called Intel Applications Accelerator. I think between these two programs and has disabled the feature to select the DMA.