Changing bios it8212f ide card

hi all, in my quest to find ide cards that support optical drives i have found
a card with the right chipset.
problem is that according to the ite website FAQ
what i need to do is flash the cards bios from the “raid bios”
to the “atapi bios”.
i have downloaded the flashing utility and the correct bios file from HERE
but i’m not sure on how to do this???
the faq says this needs to be done in “pure DOS mode”, i have no experience with this??
also can’t find a guide that explains the process.
if anyone is able to help, i would really appreciate it :slight_smile:
thank you

pure dos mode means real dos booted thru a floppy or cd (windows command prompt doesnt count)
anyway ive made it easy for you and created a bootable iso & floppy creator , both contains the atapi bios & flasher of course , get it here http://media8.filewind.com/g.php?filepath=10686

file descriptions

floppy-creator.exe = creates a bootable floppy with all the nessasry files… , ,run it and click ok,wait til it finishes,the floppy will be automatically formatted so existing data will be lost

212fbios.iso = bootable iso,burn as image with any burnning software,or with imgburn or active iso burner

[B]NOTES[/B] : just incase it isnt obvious you need to use only 1 of the methods (floppy or cd) , now lets talk about the pros and cons of each method , the flasher creates a backup of the current bios before updating , if youll use the floppy way it will be saved to it but if youll use the cd way it will be saved to a ramdrive (which will be gone after a restart of course,not a big deal IMO cuz if it will go south from some reason you could just exit the flasher and re-run it by typing iteflash,then input the file name of the backup bios)

imgburn can be downloaded from http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download & active iso burner from http://www.download.com/Active-ISO-Burner/3000-2646_4-10612384.html