CD to CD recording

Please bear with me Im a little new at this. I had a CD-RW drive added to my first computer and to create CD compilations I recorded CD to CD. My new Gateway computer has the combination CD-ROM and CD-RW drive so I have to rip the CDs first before I can record my compilations. I burn my Cds with Music Match at 192 KBS. I think the Cds recorded from CD to CD sounded better than the MP3 CDs. Would I get better sounding CDs by adding a 2nd CD-RW drive to my computer and recording CD to CD ?

If I understand well, you read the original with MusicMatch, at 192 kbps, then burn the result ?

The loss of quality comes from the compression to 192 kbps MP3. You must read the original without compressing it. The best programs for this are

The latest PlexTools, for Plextor drives only.
EAC (http://www.exactaudiocopy.de, for all drives) : the only one besides Plextools capable of detecting if your CD is scratched and if the reading skipped.
CDEX (http://www.cdex.n3.net/, for all drives), much less secure than EAC at detecting scratches, but sometimes prefered, a matter of taste. Might succeed to read scratched CDs that EAC can’t read.

Whatever you use, you must get wav files from your original, not MP3. Those wav files can be burn without loss of quality.

Are you talking about audio cds with .wav files or data cds with .mp3 files? Are these cds meant to be played in a stand-alone cdplayer? Or do you only want to play the cds on your pc?

Audio Cds in MP3 format that I use to play in my car stereo. It sounds like I should be burning in the WAV format instead of MP3.

Ok, let me summarize your problem:

You burn mp3 data cds you play in your car cdplayer (which must mp3 capabilities of course, so somewhere on the display of your car cd-player are the characters ‘mp3’). These mp3 cds cannot be played in your regular stand-alone player, like the cdplayer in your livingroom, or like a discman.

The above information gives the following burningproces: