Cd/dvd not reconized in bios

Hi everyone, I am new to this so please be patient, can anyone help with a problem with my laptop, The cd/dvd drive broke so my brother replaced it witha new one exactly the same make and model as the old one, it worked perfect.
I kept getting a blue screen then the computer shut down, I rang fujitsu siemens help line and they said that windows had gone wrong and i needed a recovery cd which i bought. at this stage i could not open windows but could in safe mode. I opened the bios screen and made the cd/dvd priority then put in the recovery cd, it started working but half way through it shut down again, now when i turn on the computer I have nothing no windows or anything, i rang the helpline again and he siad that in bios the system is not reconizing my cd/dvd in the ide config or something like that. can anyone please help.

Typically, if the BIOS isn’t seeing the drive, you have a bad drive, a loose/bad cable, motherboard issue, or the drive does not have power.

In the case of laptops, many have drives that can be removed/swapped, in which case it could just be a dirty or damaged connector.

Welcome to the forum, I agree for reconnecting the drive might help or might be a bad drive. Does the reader light on the drawer light up when closing it? If not it’s a power problem and you need to reseat the drive.

Fact is, the replacement drive needs to have an FSC OEM firmware to work in this Laptop, there is no other way.

[QUOTE=chef;1958687]Fact is, the replacement drive needs to have an FSC OEM firmware to work in this Laptop, there is no other way.[/QUOTE]

Read the OP, it is the same drive replacement. :rolleyes:

Thanks for all your replys, It does have power to the cd/dvd I did remove it and put it back in. The light comes on but it wont work.
A couple of questions what is an FSC OEM firmware and what is the OP and how do I read it. I do have a main computer what I am using at the moment.