CD/DVD Drive Disappeared Cannot Restore Computer

vbimport

Hello,
I’m a newbie and read through the guides and searched the posts before adding this question, but it may be answered somewhere else. Please excuse the redundancy if it has been seen before.

I recently downloaded a tweak tool from another site, one I trust. This is not something I usually do.
The tool did create a system restore point, before making a mess of things. My CD/DVD drive disappeared from the computer and the device manager. I attempted system restore and start-up recovery Neither worked. System restore can’t complete, it gets stuck in the initial phase. I am using an installed Windows 7 on a HP Pavilion laptop. So I looked online. Attempted the Mr. Fix It solutions, without luck. Checked under the BIOS, and it is there. Ran a hardware diagnostic, both quick and comprehensive tests and the hardware passed. (So did the memory test). Attempted to change the boot order so that I could use my recovery disc, but that didn’t take. Looked up some answers on Microsoft that suggested I remove the upper filter from the CD/DVD registry key. That really messed things up. Now I can only boot into safe mode. I get the blue error screen otherwise. Called HP, LOL ! Posted on Microsoft and the site I downloaded the recommended tweak tool from (MG).

The drive is acting normal when I insert a CD/DVD, but it isn’t recognized. If I could only get the recovery disc to work I would be happy to wipe and start over. The really funny thing is that I am buying a new laptop next week. (Leaning towards a Dell XPS17). Typing on a Toshiba, with multiple problems, but keeps on going. The funny thing is the CD Drive won’t work on the Toshiba ! Lol.

Hi melm12

Welcome to the forum :flower: