CD copy Protection image

Since I already know the answer to this its a wate of time posting, but I just wanted to clarify with you guys (the expers) :slight_smile: on the subject

Copy protection is unable to lie in image sourcess such as iso, zip, cue/bin, or any other image files, as even though the software detection is within the data area of the cd. the watermar is outside the normal data areas of a cd. thus imaging progtrams cannot replicate this. Correct ?

Welcome cd_freak,

I’m not a technical expert in this case but some format like .iso or .bin can hold all the information you’ll need to create a working backup of some protections using the right software. From my personall experience I can verify that using .iso format in combination with Alcohol is able to create a working backup of SafeDisc protected software. There are some more skilled members they’ll probably give you a more precise answer and more information :).

ok, as far as i know you cant make a 1:1 backup of a protected game (other thna very basic protections like cd-checks) with ISO/ZIP/CUE.BIN these justcant store the data needed, i dont know how kalas managed a safedisc backup with a iso, iether he a) used a illegal nocd or b) had some kind of emulation. mds/mdf, img/ccd, bw5/bwa are the main formats that can hold copy protection data, mds/mdf probibly the best.

ben :slight_smile:

ISO files can be in either 2048 or 2352 bytes/sector (or some other variance). The 2048 version holds only user data (and no bad sector info), but the 2352 version holds bad sector info.

oh ok, are they both ISO 9660 standard?