CD Burn Mode Change

Hi All, Another newbie here.

As user name suggests - I am realitively green with computers although learning slowly.

My problem:

I have an original CD vehicle navigation disc that is recorded in Mode 1
I have successfully burnt copies in mode 1

I however now need to burn a version of it in Mode 2, Form 1.

I have tried with magicISO but although setting to mode 2 it still burnt in mode 1. I do know that is possible to do this but not how to.

Can someone help with which programme & detailed step by step (remembering my incompetence)

Help much appreciated, can PM me if you wish as I am still finding my way around this site.

Thanks in advance

Grant

Check this. http://www.doom9.org/index.html?/xcd.htm

Thanks for that info - will follow that up soon, a quick look indicates maybe the answer. Cheers

Checked this site, downloaded programmes but couldnt make sense of them compared to description on this link, is this appropriate for what I require or is there another programme to acheive what I need?

Why?
Mode 2 is just mode 1 with less error correction.

If you’re trying to get more space out of your CDR’s, then just buy 700, or 800 MB CDR’s, or overburn your existing CDR’s.

Not dependent on space on disc. Some vehicle nav units (earlier) will only read a mode 2 version of the mode 1 disc I have. Havent done this myself but do know of it having been done in mode 2 & working fine.

Is the disc copy protected in any way?

If that’s [B][I]not[/I][/B] the case, you can just extract the files to your HD & make a Mode2 data disc in nero, the same way you’d make a mode1 data disc compilation.

No copy protection on original, have extracted files to HD & burnt Mode 1 discs from there with nero but cant find the ability to burn Mode 2 on nero.

Can go into nero disc info & determine what mode the disc is burnt in (have a copy disc of a different country which is Mode 2) but cant see where to change the burn mode.