Capturing video

Hi all, another noob here :bigsmile:

I just bought a dvd burner (lite-on SHW1635S) to replace my old Teac cd burner.

One big reason I wanted a dvd burner is to burn some video tapes to dvd. I have some tapes of Steelheart (the rock band) I got off of someone and want to get them on dvd before the tape degrades too much (has already started).

The first one I’m trying to do is an underground video of a concert in Amsterdam. The problem is that I have tried with ATI tv and Nero to capture the video and a few songs into it they stop and say the signal is copy protected. I’m not sure if it actually is, they are on cheap Maxell standard tapes. The programs dont stop in the same place either. Anyone know of a capture program that would get around this? My capture device is an ATI all-in-wonder 9600 video card and is plugged into the back of the vcr.

I found a copy of Studio 8 (guess it came with my video card) and it let me capture the entire video. But after burning it to dvd and trying it in my dvd player the sound and video are out of synch. Not sure if the captured video is like that or just when I burn it. Will have to mess with it some more tonight. I need to recapture the video anyways with a differnent vcr. What I thought was the tape degrading is my vcr messing up, works perfectly with my other vcr.

Also Studio 8 reported 19000 dropped frames over the 1 hr 20 minute video. ATItv and Nero didnt report any dropped frames for the time they were recording. Not sure what the problem was there.

What are the specs of your computer? What is the ATI card you are using?

It takes a fair amount of power to capture video. A slow computer, too little memory, and slow hard disks will cause dropped frames. Also what codec are you using? Depending on the answer to the ATI card, you may be able to get assistance from the card if using the proper codec.