Capture hardware, what to buy?

vbimport

My “inlaws” are gettig a new PC. They want this PC to be able to record their old 8mm tapes so they can be put on DVD.

Question is: what is the best hardware to buy to do this. As they are on a somewhat limited budget, the capture hardware should not cost more than €100.

I figured that these are the options:

• VGA card with composite/Svideo in
  • TV card with composite/Svideo in
  • an external (USB) capture device that encodes the input video to MPEG2
  • a real dedicated capture card

Besides that it shouldn’t cost too much, it should be easy to use. That means that they don’t want to hassle with CCE settings etc (and that means that the USB devices are more in favour than the others). Problem is that I have little experience in this field. What do the experts here think about it?

Thanx in advance :slight_smile:

I know this one was said to be good, from Pinnacle Systems :

Studio MovieBox DV version 9
Price: $ 199.99

Studio MovieBox USB version 9
Price: $ 199.99

They’re pretty expensive, I know, but the hardware is good. I don’t like their software thought, something you pay a lot for.

I’ve had that thingy for 2 days… what a piece of crap that was. Although the device didn’t give any troubles, the quality of the MPEG video was horrible. I was very lucky just to borrow it, as I would have taken it back to the shop within a couple of minutes.

And indeed, the software was even beyond horrible.

Thanx for answering though, any input is highly appreciated :slight_smile:

http://www.plextor.be/products/px-m402u.asp?choice=ConvertX%20PX-M402U

if you’re in the US (not sure):
http://www.plextor.com/english/products/ConvertX-AV100U.htm

I’d get a Leadtek WinFast TV2000 XP Expert PCI Capture card, it provides good video quality and isn’t very expensive. Keep in mind though that analogue sources in general doesn’t compress very well due to interference and noise so prepared to do some filtering.
//Danne