Capabilities? New Drive?

Hello…

Mega Noob here… My wife has this older dell computer with a dvd player on it… How can I find out if it has burning capabilities? Is there a program that will tell me what this drive is capable of?

New drive? I want to get a new drive for my computer. I heard that now is a good time becuase of something like blueray or dL or something.

Anyway should I try to find a drive with blueray or dl? I want to get a drive that is like the best for all things… does this drive exist? I read over some forum posts and heard things like don’t get this drive if you want to scan … dont get that drive if you want burn well what does scanning mean? Why would someone want a drive that couldnt burn?

Thanks in advance … sorry for the noobler questions … if you have any suggestions on a drive also I’d be thankful … maybe some points on why you would suggest it.

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Yes, Nero Info tool. :slight_smile: http://telecharger.yacapa.com/telechargement/Disque+dur+CD+Rom+DVD/Nero+Info+Tool-33005.html

New drive? I want to get a new drive for my computer. I heard that now is a good time becuase of something like blueray or dL or something. Anyway should I try to find a drive with blueray or dl?
All recent burners do DL, only cutting-edge drives do Blue-Ray, and they’re hard to find. The media itslef is not widely available. Forget it until it becomes more widely spread and cheaper.
I want to get a drive that is like the best for all things… does this drive exist?
Short answer: no. :bigsmile:
I read over some forum posts and heard things like don’t get this drive if you want to scan … […]what does scanning mean?
Performing tests, called PIE/PIF tests, that are supposed to indicate the burning quality. This is a controversial subject, and is not an exact science as all drives report different figures in these tests.
Why would someone want a drive that couldnt burn?