Cant change speed of my benq dvd to allow to burn to dvd

Hi,

I am an newbie. I am trying to burn to dvd using benq dvd ew1621 external drive with windvd creator software. I made a movie in windows movie maker and imported it to windvd and then tried burning it. It seems to go through the whole procedure but isn’t burning to my dvd. I think its because of the speed that is set at optimal. I select benq dvd where asked then speed only gives me the choice of optimal. I would like to change the speed to much lower but don’t know how. If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate. the movie is supposed to be a christmas gift for family. I think that is the issue but as I am unfamiliar with burning dvd, hope I haven’t messed up else where.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

To be sure that the drive is working correctly, I suggest to do in this way. Save the movie on your hard disc, as ISO file if it’s possible.

Then use ImgBurn to write the ISO on a DVD disc.

Regarding the burning speed, what discs are you using? I suggest to not burn a high speed certified disc at a too slow speed. For example, if you are burning a 16x vertified media, I suggest to burn the disc @12x or 8x, but not slower.

forgive my ignorance but what is an iso file. Windvd goes throught the process of burning the dvd but fails to do so. The speed is set at optimal and I am unsure what speed that is. do I just download imburn to burn my movie to a dvd and not use windvd. Again forgive these questions but I have never done this and thought it would be alot easier.

No problem at all :slight_smile:

You can read more information on ISO file format here.

Actually I don’t know if windvd allows to save ISO files.

Search in windvd options if it’s possible to save converted files on hard disc first (instead to burn directly), and then you can use any burning software you like to burn files.