Can't capture video with Xpert DVD Maker

vbimport

I have installed an Xpert - DVD Maker PCI card in my PC. I want to copy my families home movies to DVD. I have tried using both Power Producer 2 Gold and Nero to capture the VHS video. Both programs will copy only 2 minutes or less of video, then the image in the preview screen freezes and nothing more is copied. After this happens I can’t get a signal from the VCR again without rebooting my PC. I have a P4 2.8G processor, 512K ram, and approximately 175G available on the Hard Drive.

Any suggestions from anybody?

Try capturing using VirtualDub. It is free and tends to be a lot more reliable than commercial capture programs.

I have downloaded VirtualDub. I am VERY new at this and I don’t find VirtualDub to be a very intuitive program. I haven’t been able to figure out what to do once I get the program started. The help/instructions is pretty weak. There is lots of information on what the options do, but how about some help just getting started!?

To capture, just use File > Capture AVI and see if it captures properly.

Documentation for virtualdub is available here. I would by lying if I said that some assembly is not required, but really this is quite a powerful prog even though it is not too friendly. There is definitely an assumption on the developer’s part that you will explore and figure out how to do things.

Thanks for the help. I can capture video…now just need to figure out the audio. I’ll keep exploring.

Hey kmrenken…

Are you trying to do a stright to disk copy with the Power Producer? If not give that a try. I have this and it’s worked almost perfect. I’ve made approx 50 movies with it and only had a couple lock ups. Just re-booted and it took off again. Are you using S-Video or Rca cables for hook up?

Mark

Sportfish…